Daisypath Anniversary tickers
Showing posts with label obama. Show all posts
Showing posts with label obama. Show all posts

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Teeter Totter

In the interest of occasionally dealing directly with things that relate to the title of this blog, here's an example for you. Yesterday I stepped into a firestorm on facebook when I posted a reply to a political article (namely, one about Obama's extending partial federal benefits to the same-sex partners of governmental workers....the article link was posted along with this remark: "the worst president ever.") I should have known the slippery slope I was embarking upon, but before thinking too deeply about it (because the point that I was about to make is one that the fact that it is routinely ignored is absolutely amazing to me), that one of the things that makes our country a free one, and has made it, since its beginning, a great one (a.k.a. the separation of church and state) is completely ignored on this issue, and that no one seems to care. Am I really the only one who thinks it doesn't make any sense to use religous viewpoints as basis for laws? I can't help but feel incredibly unsettled once religious beliefs start becoming law in this country which is supposed to embrace everyone, no matter what their race, creed, background, or religion is.

In fact, I could've sworn that the reason this country was founded in the first place was to escape religous tyranny.....

But anyway, back to the tightrope. Of course what I said provoked a buncha comments, at first agreeing with me, then strongly, strongly disagreeing and starting to quickly go bad. I actually walked away from my computer before the downslide happened, but by the time I saw the stream again a few hours later, people were insulting each other and calling each other names, and it was general craziness.

The balance that I try to keep (which is one of the reasons that I don't comment much on these type of subjects) is one that on one hand, lets me stay true to my innermost values (which involve always speaking with respect and compassion for everyone, no matter who I'm talking to and what their beliefs are), while still standing up for what I believe in (which, honestly, generally is basically the same thing). A conversation that is coming with as much fiery impetus as that one was has a high likelihood of quickly dissolving into "you're stupid." "You're stupider." "Your mom," and so on. In fact, that's exactly what happened (with different words, but with the same spirit). I really can't get behind that. And, for that matter, it's a little difficult for me to understand why anyone would if they're conscious of what they're doing. Perhaps that's it - once a nerve gets touched, people forget what they're saying (and typing), and unfortunately, not only is it appropriate in the media nowadays to sling hate (in various disguises - both light and heavy ones), but that's what often gets hits and comments and calls-in and the like.

I'll settle for a small readership, thanks. I'd rather not sell out to what I see as one of the biggest problems in our world right now - the lack of empathy that everyone doesn't think the way that you do, and, even more of a novel concept, that this is okay.

And that's what I think.

On another note, I had my lovely sister be a model for me yesterday on my ongoing journey to master my camera's settings. Here's a peek at what we got:

And on a third note, I'm making the 4-hour drive Saturday morning to go see this guy:
Daddy Brown (and Rikki, the parrot. That guy had better be snug in his cage when I arrive, I've never met him but hear he's posessive and I would prefer to still have all my fingers by Monday...)

Today's whiteboard quote:
"One wa
y to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure."
~William Feather

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Earthworms and Pennies From Heaven

First of all, the election...

I wasn't feeling so great last night so I was lying down at T's house while he was at the computer, updating me with the unofficial results that Obama had won, by a landslide even. That was not a big surprise at all to me, I don't know how anyone could have reasonably expected much else with the way things have been going for the past weeks, but lying there, tired, only halfway thinking about it and not even surprised or particularly interested (at that moment, of course I was happy to hear it) I felt a quiet but intense inner surge of excitement. It was bigger than me, and I know it didn't even come from my own thoughts. It was the feeling of the tide changing, in a grand sense. And this history-making election is just a symptom of this great thing that is affecting all of us. I talked to a friend this morning and she felt it too - what an interesting time we live in. The climate of the world is changing, and we're here to experience it. And, from where I'm standing, it certainly looks like that change will be for the better.

Now, on to other things...

One of my quirks is that I always have to rescue earthworms from the sidewalk. You know, after it rains and there are a bunch of them out there who came onto dry land to escape the saturated ground? Well, I'm sure it seemed like a good idea at the time, but once they're out, it's not like they can see their way back into the safe darkness of the soil again! The thought of one dying a painful death, less than a foot away from salvation but having no idea how to get there really bothers me. So, when I see one that's still alive, I put it back into the grass. As I've become an adult, I'm not as eager to pick it up in my hands, but I always nudge them over until they're in a place where they can burrow down.

I know it's not much, but it makes me feel like I did my part to spread some goodness in the world - and I'm sure it was a big deal to the earthworm!

This morning I saw one that it was too late for and had a moment of sadness. I know it's a little thing, but senseless death, no matter how small, should be mourned, if only for a moment or two.

I saw it on my walk over to the cafeteria on the campus where I work. I was craving, and I mean craving (as in, had been for days and was finally breaking down and getting one) a croissant. Yum. So, I decided to trot on over and pick one up, as the only other thing I had brought with me for lunch was a banana and that wasn't up to balancing out the huge amount of vitamins and herbs in pill form that I'm taking with every meal (another story) that make me nauseous if I don't have food too.

So, off I went. Very excitedly (on the inside).

As I was on my way, it occured to me that I wasn't actually THAT hungry, and although the banana alone wouldn't be enough, having a huge croissant too would probably make me feel just as yucky. But what are you gonna do, so I still went over and saw what they had in the caf.

A minute or two into my perusing, I saw a couple of trays, with the cutest little mini-croissants! About a half or a third of the size of the gargantuan ones I've always seen before. Yay! (note: I have never seen these before there.)

Anyway, I picked one up and headed for the checkout. The woman standing there looked at me.

"That's all you're getting?"
"...yes..."
(she looks with a strange face back towards the bar)
"Well, you can't really buy one of those alone - it's part of the entire breakfast over there."
(Oh, great. So am I going to have to pay something like $6 for this itty-bitty croissant? I'm not happy. And, for some reason, this morning I was not my usual smiley and good-natured self. Only once in about a year do I actually show my dissapointment and/or annoyance at a time like this. I frowned at her, thinking about what I was supposed to do...I guess my option to put it back was gone, I didn't want any more food, so I would have to shell out way more than I should to buy this little thing, all the while that I've been trying to be frugal for the upcoming holiday season. Dammit.)
"...Well, next time, remember that they're part of the actual breakfast. But just take that with you right now."
(all the time said with that same not-so-pleasant look on her face)
"...what?"
"Go ahead. But remember that next time it comes with the whole thing."
(it occurs to me that she just wants me to walk out with it.)
"Are you sure?" (she nods) "Ok, thanks! Have a good day!"

And I walk away, feeling abashed that I was a bit of a jerk (if mostly only in my head), and trying to figure out what just happened.

These are the things I am talking about when I say that if we notice the small nice things/blessings/answers/whatever that we get on a day-to-day basis, life can be so much sweeter. The truth is, I'd wanted something, even only for a fleeting thought, and not only did I get it, very unexpectedly because I didn't even know it was an option, but I got it for free.

And yes, it's only a small thing, but isn't life made up of nothing but small things?

So I gave thanks for it and cherished my moment of luck. Of course me, being me, attributed it to the Divine presence and said thanks for the little, mundane (but noticed and appreciated) gift, that was given to me for no reason.

And yes, I'm still having a not-so-great day. But isn't it great when you're given little things to smile about?

Hmm, kind of makes you think that it could be all on purpose, doesn't it? ;)